FIRST Robotics Newfoundland & Labrador

FIRST Robotics Newfoundland & Labrador is a not-for-profit with a mission to inspire young people of Newfoundland and Labrador to pursue further studies and careers in science, technology, engineering, and entrepreneurship.  This will be achieved through the deliver of exciting mentor-based programs such as FIRST LEGO League and FIRST LEGO League Jr.  They help students build STEM and problem solving skills, while also fostering well-round life capabilities such as  self-confidence, communication, and leadership.   

For 17 years, FIRST Robotics NL has been a Partner with For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology (FIRST) which is an international youth organization that operates the FIRST Robotics CompetitionFIRST LEGO LeagueFIRST Lego League Jr., and FIRST Tech Challenge competitions.

Below, is the two programs that we offer in Newfoundland & Labrador

Our Programs

FIRST LEGO League Junior

FIRST LEGO League Jr. (FLLJr) introduces STEM concepts to students from Grade 1 - 4 while they work with a brand they know and love − LEGO®.

FIRST LEGO League Program - Newfoundland & Labrador


FIRST® LEGO® League (FLL) is a robotics program that introduces students to science and technology in a sporty atmosphere.

2019 FIRST Theme

For the 2019/2020 season the theme is FIRST RISE, powered by Star Wars: Force for Change.

Sponsors & Partners

Sponsors and partners are an extremely important part in the delivery of the FIRST LEGO League (FLL) and FIRST LEGO League Jr. (FLL Jr) programs to students in this province.  Below is a list of some of our sponsors and partners, but for a more detailed list go to;

Becoming a Sponsor

For more information about becoming a FIRST Robotics NL sponsor go to HERE.

FIRST Robotics in Canada

FIRST Robotics competitions are offered and delivered through a number of organizations throughout Canada:

FIRST Robotics Canada – Ontario

FIRST Robotics Quebec – Quebec

Acadia Robotics – Nova Scotia

FIRST Robotics BC – British Columbia

FIRST Western Canada – Alberta and Saskatchewan